US Open qualifications begin today

Source : PSA World Tour

The 2017 instalment of the U.S. Open Presented by Macquarie Investment Management begins on Saturday October 7 at Drexel University’s Daskalakis Athletics Center in Philadelphia as the world’s leading players get set to do battle in the first World Series event of the new season. Egypt’s World No.3 Mohamed ElShorbagy and Camille Serme return to the 2017 U.S. Open as they look to defend their crown.

The U.S. Open is one of the most pioneering and leading events on the PSA World Tour calendar, becoming the first PSA World Series tournament to offer equal prize money across both the Men’s and Women’s draws in 2013.

The tournament started back in 1954 on New Year’s Day in a hardball format, before changing to the more familiar softball format that modern fans will be accustomed to in 1985.

The legendary Pakistani player Jahangir Khan was the first winner in the modern format, beating former World Champion Ross Norman, whilst Egyptian ‘Maestro’ Amr Shabana (two), Australia’s David Palmer, England’s Peter Nicol and Canada’s Jonathon Power have all also got their hands on the famous title.

The U.S. Open has been held in various locations such as Chicago and Boston before the tournament moved to Philadelphia in 2011 – where it has stayed ever since – securing a ten-year agreement with Drexel University.

The tournament has a reputation as one of the marquee events on the North American squash calendar and last year saw Egypt’s World No.3 Mohamed ElShorbagy and France’s World No.2 Camille Serme claim the men’s and women’s title respectively.

ElShorbagy overcame England’s three-time World Champion, Nick Matthew, in the final as the Yorkshireman was forced to retire in the fifth and final game of their thrilling match, handing the Egyptian his second U.S. Open title in three years. Whilst Serme overcame Egypt’s World No.1 Nour El Sherbini in the women’s final by an 11-8, 7-11, 12-10, 11-9 scoreline.

The U.S. Open represents the first chance for players to earn points for the World Series Standings as they bid to qualify for the season-ending PSA World Series Finals – with only the top eight players on the men’s and women’s standings earning a coveted berth at the lucrative tournament.

“I have great memories because it is the tournament that got me to World No.1 three years ago. I’ve won it twice in three years and when I didn’t play very well last season it was one of the tournaments I won, so I have good memories there. I always love playing there and love all of the support. It’s a tournament I always look forward to.” Mohamed El Shorbagy


Mohamed ElShorbagy (left) and Camille Serme (right) with the 2016 titles

Previous Winners


2016 Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)
2015 Gregory Gaultier (FRA)
2014 Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)
2013 Gregory Gaultier (FRA)
2012 Ramy Ashour (EGY)
2011 Amr Shabana (EGY)
2010 Wael El Hindi (EGY)
2009 Amr Shabana (EGY)
2008 No event
2007 Nick Matthew (ENG)
2006 Gregory Gaultier (FRA)
2005 Lee Beachill (ENG)
2004 Lee Beachill (ENG)
2003 Peter Nicol (ENG)
2002 David Palmer (AUS)
2001 Peter Nicol (ENG)
2000 Jonathon Power (CAN)
1999 Simon Parke (ENG)
1998 Peter Nicol (SCO)
1997 Jonathon Power (CAN)
1996 Rodney Eyles (AUS)
1995 Jansher Khan (PAK)
1994 Peter Nicol (SCO)
1993 Rodney Eyles (AUS)
1992 No event
1991 Rodney Martin (AUS)
1990 Jansher Khan (PAK)
1989 Rodney Martin (AUS)
1988 Jahangir Khan (PAK)
1987 Jansher Khan (PAK)
1986 Stuart Davenport (NZL)
1985 Jahangir Khan (PAK)



2016 Camille Serme (FRA)

2015 Laura Massaro (ENG)
2014 Nicol David (MAS)
2013 Nicol David (MAS)
2012 Nicol David (MAS)
2011 Laura Massaro (ENG)
2010 Vanessa Atkinson (NED)
2009 Jenny Duncalf (ENG)
2008 No event
2007 No event
2006 No event
2005 Natalie Grinham (AUS)
2004 Natalie Grainger (USA)
2003 Cassie Jackman (ENG)
2002 Carol Owens (NZL)
2001 No event
2000 No event
1999 Cassie Jackman (ENG)
1998 Michelle Martin (AUS)
1997 Cassie Jackman (ENG)
1996 No event
1995 No event
1994 Suzanne Horner (ENG)
1993 Cassie Jackman (ENG)


Qualification for the 2017 U.S. Open takes place between October 5-6, while the main draw will be held between October 7-14 inside the Daskalakis Athletic Center at Drexel University.






[2] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) v Cameron Pilley (AUS)
Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) v Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)
Simon Rösner (GER) v [Qualifier]
Cesar Salazar (MEX) v [5] James Willstrop (ENG)
[7] Tarek Momen (EGY) v [Qualifier]
Daryl Selby (ENG) v [Qualifier]
Gregoire Marche (FRA) v Ryan Cuskelly (AUS)
Zahed Mohamed (EGY) v [3] Nick Matthew (ENG)
[4] Ali Farag (EGY) v [Qualifier]
Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL) v [Qualifier]
Alan Clyne (SCO) v [Qualifier]
[WC] Christopher Gordon (USA) v [8] Fares Dessouky (EGY)
[6] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) v [Qualifier]
Max Lee (HKG) v Diego Elias (PER)
Omar Mosaad (EGY) v [Qualifier]
Paul Coll (NZL) v [1] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY)



[1] Nour El Sherbini (EGY) v Mariam Metwally (EGY)
[Q] v [14] Victoria Lust (ENG)
[10] Nour El Tayeb (EGY) v [Q]
Salma Hany Ibrahim (EGY) v [7] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG)
[6] Nicol David (MAS) v Donna Urquhart (AUS)
Joey Chan (HKG) v [9] Annie Au (HKG)
[12] Emily Whitlock (ENG) v [Q]
Millie Tomlinson (ENG) v [4] Laura Massaro (ENG)
[3] Camille Serme (FRA) v [WC] Haley Mendez (USA)
[Q] v [11] Joelle King (NZL)
[16] Olivia Blatchford (USA) v [Q]
[Q] v [8] Alison Waters (ENG)
[5] Nouran Gohar (EGY) v [Q]
Dipika Pallikal Karthik (IND) v [13] Joshna Chinappa (IND)
[15] Tesni Evans (WAL) v Heba El Torky (EGY)
[Q] v [2] Raneem El Welily (EGY)

← Back