Hong Kong Open: Tournament History

Source: PSA World Tour

The Cathay Pacific Sun Hung Kai Financial Hong Kong Open main draw gets under way on November 14 as the biggest stars on the PSA World Tour get ready to do battle to earn more points for the PSA World Series Standings. It is the last World Series tournament before the Men's World Team Championship that will begin on November 26th. 

The main draw will be staged at the Hong Kong Squash Centre between November 14-16 before moving to the glass court erected at the arena in Hong Kong Park Sports Centre on November 17-19.

1985 saw the inaugural Men’s Hong Kong Open take place, with England’s Phil Kenyon defeating Australia’s Steve Bowditch in the final.

Rodney Martin avenged his compatriot’s defeat the following year, before the legendary Jansher Khan went on to win eight of the next 11 tournaments, beating Australian opposition in six of those finals.

A women’s event began in 1993 and saw three-time World Champion Michelle Martin claim the first two titles before the women’s tournament went through a seven-year hiatus, returning to the PSA World Tour in 2001.

New Zealand’s Leilani Rorani and Australia’s Rachael Grinham took the next two titles before the tournament took another break from the Tour, this time three years, in part due to the fact that the 2003 and 2005 World Championships were held in Hong Kong.

2006 saw the Women’s event rejoin the Tour once more, just in time for the emergence of Malaysian superstar Nicol David, who went on to dominate the Hong Kong Open over the next decade, winning an unprecedented ten successive titles and going an incredible 50 matches unbeaten.

In the last 15 years, the men’s title has been won by eight different people, with David Palmer (2001), Peter Nicol (2002), Thierry Lincou (2003), four-time World Champion Amr Shabana (2006-2009), ‘The Artist’ Ramy Ashour (2010, 2012 & 2016), English duo James Willstrop and Nick Matthew (2011 & 2013, respectively) and former World No.1 Mohamed ElShorbagy (2014-15) all triumphing at the prestigious World Series tournament.

At last year’s tournament, there was double delight for Egyptian squash as Ashour and Nouran Gohar took the honours in Hong Kong.

Then 18-year-old Gohar ended David’s ten years at dominance at the event – knocking her out at the semi-final stage – to reach the final, where she came from 1-0 down against American Amanda Sobhy to win 3-1.

Whilst in the men’s final, Ashour looked to have put his recent injury demons to bed as he came through a highly competitive and entertaining five-game battle with compatriot Karim Abdel Gawad – who was then competing in his first ever PSA World Series tournament final.

Previous Winners – Men

2016 – Ramy Ashour (EGY)
2015 – Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)
2014 – Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)
2013 – Nick Matthew (ENG)
2012 – Ramy Ashour (EGY)
2011 – James Willstrop (ENG)
2010 – Ramy Ashour (EGY)
2009 – Amr Shabana (EGY)
2008 – Amr Shabana (EGY)
2007 – Amr Shabana (EGY)
2006 – Amr Shabana (EGY)
2005 – No competition
2004 – Thierry Lincou (FRA)
2003 – No competition
2002 – Peter Nicol (ENG)
2001 – David Palmer (AUS)
2000 – Peter Nicol (SCO)
1999 – Peter Nicol (SCO)
1998 – Jonathon Power (CAN)
1997 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1996 – Rodney Eyles (AUS)
1995 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1994 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1993 – Brett Martin (AUS)
1992 – Rodney Martin (AUS)
1991 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1990 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1989 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1988 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1987 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1986 – Rodney Martin (AUS)
1985 – Phil Kenyon (ENG)

Previous Winners – Women

2016 – Nouran Gohar (EGY)
2015 – Nicol David (MAS)
2014 – Nicol David (MAS)
2013 – Nicol David (MAS)
2012 – Nicol David (MAS)
2011 – Nicol David (MAS)
2010 – Nicol David (MAS)
2009 – Nicol David (MAS)
2008 – Nicol David (MAS)
2007 – Nicol David (MAS)
2006 – Nicol David (MAS)
2005 – No competition
2004 – No competition
2003 – No competition
2002 – Rachael Grinham (AUS)
2001 – Leilani Rorani (NZL)
2000 – No competition
1999 – No competition
1998 – No competition
1997 – No competition
1996 – No competition
1995 – No competition
1994 – Michelle Martin (AUS)
1993 – Michelle Martin (AUS)

← Back